Looking Back, Looking Forward

Looking back on the last seven years, I realize how much my life has truly changed. When these changes are happening, you really don’t notice them. I didn’t understand what changed from day to day. Yet when I try to remember my first day of sixth grade, it feels like it was a completely different person who entered that classroom. That’s when I begin to understand how much life has evolved in a fast-paced seven years.

Lincoln Lutheran has changed my life in more ways than I will ever be able to fully understand. This place has given me countless opportunities that I didn’t even knew were possible for me. I was blessed to be involved in a variety of activities and experiences and would encourage others to follow a similar path. Find areas that interest you and get involved. You never know what you might experience. As a shy, timid sixth grader, I never imagined myself being the captain of a varsity sport or Vice President of a chapter of a national organization. Looking back, I’m glad that I took hold of the opportunities that came my way. As I prepare for the future, I plan on acting in the same way: searching for countless opportunities and taking the risk to experience them.

Although it may sound cliche, I would advise anyone to enjoy the times you have at Lincoln Lutheran. That advice was given to me throughout my years here and I often shook it off. Seven years sounded like a long time and I never imagined it going by quickly. Most of us are so focused on the future and what needs to be done in order to maintain a future lifestyle that we forget to live in the now. There were days when I was ready to move away from my classmates, teachers, and school.

Now I find myself in a situation where I’m realizing how huge of an impact these people and this place had on me. There were weeks where I spent more hours at Lincoln Lutheran than at my own house. It was during those hours that I learned numerous skills and formed lasting relationships. So my advice to anyone still anxiously waiting for graduation is this: cherish it. One day you’ll be at graduation and it will be the last time you’ll see some of your classmates in your life. You’ve spent countless hours with these people over the last seven years forming memories that could last a lifetime.

The book of Isaiah speaks of how God has called the nation of Israel to be a chosen nation. This book has always been a source of inspiration for me, especially in times when I was in need of strength. Isaiah 41:9-10 says, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not cast you off”; fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. ” Like the Israelites, we have been chosen by God to be his people. We have been set apart by God, for God. Although my life may be ever-changing, I can find comfort in the consistency that is God. God has chosen me for a purpose. He will not ignore me in times of trouble but rather strengthen and uphold me. Although my future is unknown to me, I find peace in the fact that it’s all in God’s hands so I have no reason to fear.

Lincoln Lutheran has taught me a multitude of life lessons both in the classroom and outside of it. I was blessed to be surrounded by people who cared for me and who pushed me to succeed. My years here have been full of achievement and I would encourage others to push themselves during their years in school. There are countless lessons to be learned within these walls and I would recommend you consider them all. The thing I loved most about this school was the ability to relate it all back to the work of Christ. That’s what is ultimately comes down to. This school has blessed me on my personal faith walk and I am forever grateful that God placed this community in my life.

Leave a Reply

